55 candidates for bypolls in Rajasthan

Fifty-five candidates are in the fray for the January 29 bypolls to Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha seats and Mandalgarh Assembly constituency, after the scrutiny of nomination papers.

Nominations of 15 candidates from Alwar, 26 from Ajmer and 14 from Mandalgarh were found valid, the state Chief Electoral Office (CEO) said today.

Congress’s Karan Singh Yadav, BJP’s Jaswant Singh Yadav and 13 others, including 11 Independents, can fight the byelection from the Alwar parliamentary constituency, it said.

In Ajmer, nominations of Ramswaroop Lamba of the BJP, the Congress’s Raghu Sharma and 24 others, including 21 Independents, have been found valid, the CEO office said.

BJP candidate Shakti Singh, Vivek Dhakad of Congress and 12 Independents will be contesting the Mandalgarh Assembly bypoll, it said.

However, the exact number of candidates can be ascertained on January 15, the last day for withdrawing nomination papers.(PTI)

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *